Skip to content

on writing well

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur adipisicing elit,
sed do eiusmod tempor incididunt ut labore et dolore magna aliqua.
Ut enim ad minim veniam, quis nostrud exercitation
ullamco laboris nisi ut aliquip ex ea commodo consequat.

Education & Training

Key Details

  • Nationally recognised qualification
  • 2 years to complete course 
  • Fully online course
  • Dedicated tutor support
  • Qualifies for QTLS status


Level 5 diploma In Education And Training (RQF)

Next cohort start date: Sept 2022

Building on the knowledge and skills developed in Levels 3 and 4, the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training (RQF) provides in-depth skills and knowledge for teaching in a wide range of contexts.

intended Audience 

This qualification is designed to prepare individuals who would like to work or currently work in the further education and skills sector for e.g Further Education (FE), College, Independent training or local authorities. Learners may include:

  • Individuals not currently teaching or training but who are looking to enter the sector.
  • Individuals currently teaching and training, including those new to the profession who are looking to take the next step in their professional development.
  • Individuals currently working as Assessors who want to achieve a qualification to allow them to teach.

course Overview

Designed to provide learners with the teaching/training knowledge, understanding and the skills required in the further education and skills sector, this qualification covers a wide range of subjects. This includes investigating practice in the learner’s area of specialism, application of theoretical concepts when teaching and planning inclusive teaching and learning. 

Learners must successfully complete the following units to achieve the qualification:

  • Developing Teaching, Learning and Assessment in Education and Training 
  • Teaching, Learning and Assessment in Education and Training
  • Theories, Principles and Models in Education and Training
  • Wider Professional Practice and Development in Education and Training
  • inclusive practice
  • preparing for the mentoring role
  • developing and using resources in a specialist area
 How is it taught?
Learners will have access to a wide range of support materials for each unit of the qualification. These include handouts, templates and books. These will aid you in the completion of assignments. Each module will also have numerous support sessions held on zoom. The dates for these sessions are posted on the VLE and can be joined if support is required. These sessions are also uploaded to the VLE for those that Can’t attend. learners can also book 1-1 support with their tutor to Answer questions or get feedback on assignments. 


  • written assignments 
  • written question Responses 
  • portfolio of evidence
  • Practical assessment – 8 Observed Practical teaching assessments
  • Workplace Teaching practice – Total 100 hours

Benefits of the Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training:

  • Once you complete your online Level 5 Diploma in Education course with us, you will become eligible to apply for QTLS with the Society for Education and Training. Please ensure you check the SET website for the full QTLS eligibility requirements and process.
  • This Level 5 teaching course qualifies teachers or trainers to teach across a wide range of FE, HE institutions, Colleges, Secondary Schools, Sixth Form Colleges, Training Providers etc in the UK and abroad.
  • The units in the Level 5 DET course overlap and can be used to claim exemption from a variety of Learning & Development and Education & Training qualifications, for example, the L4 IQA & EQA Courses.

What happens once i make payment?

Once you’ve paid, you will be sent a link to register on our VLE, this will allow you to create your account and register for the course. On the next cohort start date (01 Sept 22) you will receive access to all of the course materials and can start learning!


This qualification is available to those over 19 years. Candidates should be at least a level 2 numeracy and literacy or equivalent

Course outline

The Level 4 Certificate in Education and Training (RQF) is a nationally regulated qualification awarded by QNUK – an OFQUAL regulated awarding organisation. Our courses are rigorously quality assured to ensure that the highest standards are maintained for all of our learners.

This level 4 course is a qualification which is often undertaken by students already in a teaching role wishing to gain further recognition for their skills within the workplace and enhance their career prospects.

The qualification is made up of the following units: 

  1. Understanding the Roles, Responsibilities and Relationships in Education and Training
  2. Planning to meet the needs of learners in education and training
  3. Delivering education and training
  4. Assessing learners in education and training
  5. Using resources for education and training
  6. Developing, using and organising resources in a specialist area 

To gain your level 4 certificate you will be required to submit product evidence such as lesson plans and resources along with your assessments. There is a requirement to have a log of at least 30 hours teaching practice in a real classroom by the end of this qualification. The teaching hours log must be signed by a competent person in your organisation or witness to confirm the log is a true reflection of your teaching. There is a requirement to be observed three times delivering teaching to adults in groups of at least 5 people. This must be observed by an expert witness qualified to level 5 or equivalent in education and training. We provide the observation paperwork for them to complete which helps to record the required evidence.

For classroom based courses hosted by The Training Group, our assessors will conduct any required observations for the L4 CET.

Progression route
  •  Learners may progress onto the following qualifications:

    • Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (RQF)
    • Level 3 Award in Understanding the Principles and Practices of Assessment (RQF)
    • Level 3 Award in Assessing Vocationally related achievement (RQF)
    • Level 3 Award in Assessing Competence in the Work Environment (RQF)
    • Level 3 Certificate in Assessing Vocational Achievement (RQF)
    • Level 4 Award in the IQA of Assessment Processes and Practice (RQF)
education can change the world

Start Your Training Today